Essential me and personality me

Note card from Laurie Rohner

Check out the note cards on Laurie’s site.

 

Lately I’ve read a number of posts and comments that have reminded me that we all are already enlightened, already whole, etc.  I know I need the reminders because I do have a tendency to treat myself as a project or calamity that needs fixing…  But even though I know that there is a level on which I’m already “there” I also feel that that is the spirit Self who always exists in enlightenment.  But I live much of the time in personality self, run by my mind.  And my spirit and my mind are rarely on the same page — a lot of the time I don’t think they’re even in the same book.

My mind has been resistant to letting go of its deep, untrue beliefs and its fear and anxiety mode.  My mind responds, however, to practices and to things like affirmations that give it a new track.  I feel like a lot of these efforts are the way we bring mind and spirit into oneness instead of living with a split between the conscious mind and the spirit of which we’re often unconscious.  And I think a lot of ancient traditions developed practices that are beautifully designed to address that gap.

It IS easy though to get so caught up in trying to fix the mind that I forget to acknowledge the perfect spirit Self that doesn’t need to practice or be better or reach higher consciousness.  What I haven’t figured out is how to simultaneously move forward in addressing the page my mind is on while remembering that my spirit is already being peace, being love, being God.  So I appreciate all those reminders.  Thanks!

8 thoughts on “Essential me and personality me

  1. So lovely — in particular, this sentence made me sigh with pleasure and ease… It IS easy though to get so caught up in trying to fix the mind that I forget to acknowledge the perfect spirit — ah yes, grace descended and reminded me of the perfect nature of spirit.

    Thanks Leigh.

  2. Don and I both laughed in appreciation, and recognition, at your words “I do have a tendency to treat myself as a project or calamity that needs fixing” – so familiar 🙂
    Something that has lately come our way – keep asking yourself ‘am I a person or awareness?’ Person or awareness?’ I found it a helpful reminder.
    xoxox

  3. Thank you for sharing Leigh. Mind stuff and our essential Self live together within us. There is no fixing required. I have found that the more time I connect to myself in the present moment, the more my essential self shines through and the fear recedes. Its a training of the mind rather than a fixing of it 😉

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

