Still in the in between

I’ve been saying for several years now that I feel like I’m in a transition phase.  After years of almost non-stop emotional processing, spiritual practices and physical healing (all intertwined, of course), the journey finally led me to a place where I had no choice but to give all the changing and releasing time to percolate through and integrate.

To someone inclined to want to accomplish things while living in a culture that almost demands everyone at least appear to be constantly accomplishing things, this phase has seemed very long.  I didn’t imagine it would stretch to years although it makes sense that 20 years worth of transformational work with almost no integration or transition time would land me in a long liminal phase.

In a lovely phone conversation the other day a friend brought up the liminal phase, which set off a round of thinking about the “in between” again.  Her comments on this phase as being one in which you’ve left behind the old you and have yet to see who you are going to be in the next phase (I’m paraphrasing LIBERALLY 😉 ) left me ruminating and seeing new angles to my old musings.

To some extent this began back in 1992 when the conclusion of my Fisher Hoffman process group left me in what our facilitator called “the void“.  I’d set off kundalini and for the next few months as I contemplated all that I’d let go of, I realized I had lost a huge amount of who I’d been and that I no longer knew who I was.

As I’ve continued letting go and transforming, the sense of “who am I now?” has been ongoing.  Not that I don’t still know I love coffee and  yoga and that my general bent is toward liberal/left politics and concern for the welfare of all, etc.  But in other ways I’ve been adrift all these years.  So many things about the nervous, inhibited, angry, sarcastic person I was have shifted, so many thoughts about what I like or want to do have changed, I don’t always have a coherent sense of self.

My friend is in the same place of limbo, between who she used to be an the unknown self she is becoming.  It felt so amazing to hear someone else speak of the same place I almost cried for the joy of feeling less alone.  She also mentioned there are a number of us at this time who are in the forefront of this transition time and many of us are in this in between place.

I thought of my friends in this blogging community and how many of us are on the same page about so many things.  It has me wondering how many of us are feeling we’re in this in between place?  How many are feeling sometimes like you’re out in front, knowing stuff most people around you don’t get yet– and how lonely that is?

Next time: our conversation also covered a bit about this “trailblazer” position some of us are in and it has set off some deep thinking for me..

7 thoughts on “Still in the in between

  1. Pingback: Being a trailblazer | Not Just Sassy on the Inside

  2. This post has helped me better understand some of my own recent experiences, so thank you. Can we integrate as we continue to grow instead of having to do one step at a time? What do you think about this?

    I have often felt like an outsider who had ideas that were too odd to share, especially as a child and teen. Fortunately like-minded people would appear where I could share more of myself over time. But it can still get lonely for me sometimes. And when there were few supports in place, it was very challenging. I have a sense that those times are mostly over. With the internet people can find their soul families, where before it would depend on the limits of geography..

    hugs, Linda

    • Oh, I think I’ve been still growing, releasing and changing through this integration process – all the stuff that’s going on with my muscles makes it so. But that process has also slowed me down and made me stay far more still and quiet, which is helping the integration. I think integration often has movement to it too as the process of letting new info, thoughts, etc. percolate is bound to create shifts.
      So glad your challenging time seems to be over!

  3. Pingback: Guess who’s back? – litebeing chronicles

  4. Pingback: The Universe is listening | Not Just Sassy on the Inside

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

