Meditating with Wayne

I recently took the companion book to Wayne Dyer’s film The Shift off the shelf and finally started reading it.  Which led me to remember I have his recording with two versions of his Getting in the Gap meditation (one around 15 minutes, one about 26).  I instantly felt drawn to do it again and enjoyed it so much I’ve been doing it every day for several days.

I’ve always liked the shorter version as a lead-in to other meditations.  His meditation does a nice job of getting my mind quiet and focused.  I can feel great if I stop with Getting in the Gap but I’ve been feeling like I want to start singing some of the Deva Primal chants again, so each day after I “get in the gap”, I’ve been choosing a chant to sing.

With the meditation completed first, I notice as I sing my focus on the chant is much stronger from the opening “Om” and less interrupted by my busy mind.  The combo leaves me feeling so at peace.

In several ways the guided practice causes you to be mindful, either focused on a word or focused on empty space or singing the sound “ah”, which in all traditions is part of the sound of the word for God, thus deepening your connection to the Universal Source.

I’ve long thought this little meditation is a great opener for anyone who wants a way in to meditating or who wants an easy way back after a hiatus.  Or it’s just a nice meditation practice to do regularly.

I’m not sure whether any of the versions on YouTube are exactly like mine but I’m sure the basic meditation is the same.  This one follows the script of the long one and adds the bonus of visuals if you want to do it open-eyed:

 

One thought on “Meditating with Wayne

  1. Oh Leigh whenever I read one of your posts I wonder why I’m not doing things like this. God knows I need it, but the ego keeps pushing to do its thing and meditation is pushed to the back burner. I know if I made a practice of daily meditation I’d be calmer, and probably sleep better, but I feel such a resistance to doing it. So then I decide to trust that. It’s an easy excuse for not doing what would no doubt benefit me greatly.
    Alison

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

