J2P Monday: Healing Religious Rifts

English: White peace dove in the air with wing...

White peace dove (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ra, over at Rarasaur, has decided to restart the Bloggers 4 Peace, issuing a challenge each month that invites us to write a post about some topic relating to peace.  This month she’s suggested that we write about healing.  Since I’ve been writing about the healing prayer of ho’oponopono and applying it to multiple situations relating to both inner and outer peace, it seemed the perfect occasion to return to my theme.

I’ve had this post in mind for a while but hesitated because it may be controversial.  However, I want to work on healing this issue in me and it always helps me focus when I write these posts, so here goes…

I live in a state where the primary political and religious views are not in sync with mine.  While most of my friends here are of the same mind as me, at election times I particularly am confronted with the views that prevail here.  It’s always a good moment to face a deep-seated place in me where peace does not dwell.

I watch the campaign ads in outrage.  And this time I watched our now-governor proclaim his Christianity all over the place.  And then I watched him proclaim he would not allow any Middle Eastern refugees into the state … before he was even sworn in.  And my fury erupted all over the place:

  • Do “those people” ever read the part of the Bible Jesus is actually in?
  • How can you possibly read Jesus’ teachings and then in His name condemn fellow humans?
  • Do “those people” not recall when Jesus said,

And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.’  Matthew 25:40

My interpretation of that quote is Jesus believed all of humanity were/are His brothers and sisters.  So if you turn your back on a human in need, you turn your back on Christ.

Though in the west we like to depict Christ as a pale white guy, He was born in the Middle East and probably had brown skin and He was a Jew.  So you can be pretty sure he wasn’t saying, “Don’t turn your back on my white Christian brothers but it’s okay to turn your back on everybody else…”  Do “those people” realize that in His time there was no such thing as Christianity?

Of course, as soon as I’m talking about “those people” I’m creating an us and a them and thereby contributing to divisiveness and hatred and the forces that keep the world in violence and chaos.  I can’t heal the problem for the world, but I can explore and heal the problem in me.

When I look at “those people”, I see:

  • frightened people who interpret religious beliefs from their place of fear
  • selfish people who would save themselves first and everyone else be damned
  • people who are hateful and mean-spirited
  • people full of issues they don’t want to face, preferring to blame others for all problems instead of taking responsibility
  • people who don’t pay attention to or understand the teachings of the One they claim to love

What I see in them is always a reflection of something in me.  What is in me I can heal.  And you know I believe that a world in which enough people are healing themselves is a world on the way to peace.  So,

  • For every way in which I allow fear to guide my thoughts and actions, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For all selfish thoughts and deeds I commit, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For all ways in which I am hateful, mean, unkind or lacking compassion toward others, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For every issue I bury in my unconscious instead of facing it, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For blaming others instead of myself about anything, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For misinterpreting or misunderstanding spiritual concepts but believing I’m right, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For seeing the world as having an “us” and a “them” in which I separate “those people” as other, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For holding fury, anger and hatred in my being, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For judging others about anything ever, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you

May the world be filled with lovingkindness

May it be well

May it be peaceful and at ease

May it be happy

5 thoughts on “J2P Monday: Healing Religious Rifts

  1. You have my full sympathy Leigh, we’re also about to go through the political mayhem you are now experiencing, that time where they shout from the rooftops on all the things all want to hear, and then after the election you can’t find them anywhere.
    I wonder if I could become one of them, and pass a law against politicians……(this space while I think about it is 0.000001 sec long :))……nup, not a hope 🙂

    • Yes, now that the state’s gubernatorial race is over, the Presidential stuff goes on but it’s a little easier to ignore than the local stuff — and tends not to garner ads that are nearly as nasty as both parties produce in the state and local stuff here.
      You definitely don’t seem like a guy who would enjoy being a politician 🙂

      • Just the thought of it gives me shudders Leigh.
        I follow my heart, which when standing in its truth, gives to others.
        Something that is anemic to a politician 🙂
        Mind you, I shouldn’t judge them. A lot have great intents and purposes, but the system sucks them in and spits them out…that’s their journey.

  2. I totally get it Leigh. I’ve simple stopped watching “those people”. It’s easier to love from a distance. I hope I’m never challenged with up close and personal. I’ve been doing a lot of healing of other lives. I suspect I’ve been one of “those people” more than once. When I feel into it all the first thing that arises is sadness. It’s the way of the world apparently. I so admire and appreciate the healing you do – for all of us.
    Alison

    • Yes, I have a notion we’ve all been all the types we especially don’t like in some lifetime. I also have ancestors who were pretty fundamentalist as far as I can tell, so I’ve a notion there’s some kind of cellular memory in there.
      Thanks for the healing you provide and thanks for the appreciation!

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

