J2P Monday: Resistance to Health

rating_badge_hm

Last week I raised the issue of personal health relating to the health of the earth.  Continuing that exploration, this week I want to look at the many ways in which so very many of us know what would be good for us or what to do to be healthier but we choose not to do it.

On a constant basis I encounter:

  • people who’ve been diagnosed with high blood pressure but eat fatty, high cholesterol foods and hope the medication will take care of it.
  • Diabetics who eat everything they’ve been told not to eat.
  • People who’ve been told they need to exercise but don’t do it.  By the dozens I’ve had people referred to me by body work professionals because my movement work would help them heal faster but they never show up.
  • People with arthritis who are given a list of foods to avoid and continue to eat all of them and movements to practice that they never do.
  • People who exercise to hard bodies and then are told they need to stretch to heal their issues but they won’t.
  • People who are sleep deprived but continually fail to sleep eight hours
  • People who pump themselves up with unhealthy energy boosts to make up for the lack of sleep.

I’m sure you could name examples from your life or the lives of people you know.

I believe there are many interesting questions behind those decisions.  At the core every time I choose not to do the thing that heals I’m literally deciding I don’t want to be healthy.  That’s the choice being made every time someone ignores the self-care possibilities that would lead to healing or feeling better.

Some of the questions I’ve learned to ask:

  • What do I (you) have to gain from holding on to the illness or pain?
  • Why do I (you) believe I (you) don’t deserve to be well?
  • What do I (you) fear will happen if I’m healed?
  • Why do I (you) not want to have power over my (your) own health?
  • Why do I need the Universe or a doctor or a practitioner to have more responsibility for my health than I do?
  • Do I (you) need the excuses that illness allows?
  • Why does my inner self believe I need this illness?
  • When and why did the pattern of this illness start?
  • What happened that caused my inner self to believe I’d be better off ill than healthy?
  • What does the nature or type of illness express about something in me?
  • If you are living a busy life in which many things that are less important than your health have priority over taking time to be healthy, why?  What do you believe about yourself and your right to feel good that causes you to give low priority to being healthy?  [This used to be a good question for me but since I decided a few years back to make getting healthy my only priority, it’s thankfully one I don’t ask any more]
  • Do I (you) feel you’re somehow more interesting or special if you have a food issue or illness or pain?  If so, why do you feel you aren’t interesting enough in yourself?

Many of those questions may require a therapist or some extensive sorting through your past, your ancestors, your issues, etc.  But you can also work on healing these questions with ho’oponopono.

Sometimes it’s easier to think of the questions and the topics for healing if you explore someone else’s life and make a list of the issues you see.  They’ll be yours anyway, so what the heck?  Then say the ho’oponopono prayer to heal them in you.

Some examples of using ho’oponopono on these issues:

  • For not taking care of the precious temple that is my body, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • Because I don’t value myself enough to do what I need to to be healthy, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For anything from the past that now dictates how I deal with my health, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For eating foods I shouldn’t eat, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For failing to exercise as much or as often as my body needs, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you I love you
  • For not loving myself enough to make my health a priority, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • For whatever this illness is manifesting from within me, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you

I think the deep emotional issues and patterns that underlie this tendency to ignore health or to take only some aspects of needed healing and sidestep others has a lot to do with the way we treat the earth.  Heal your body, heal the world.

Note:  As a companion to these pieces about healing our bodies to heal the world, I’ve started some pieces over on my Scribblings blog about my personal journey through finding the health modalities that work for me.  The first one explores greens and raw foods in the diet.  From this point on I’ll try to get links going back and forth.

4 thoughts on “J2P Monday: Resistance to Health

  1. Excellent questions. Many of these ( in some form) I have used with therapy clients. I will share this on my FB page and Twitter.

    The small is part of the large. Reflexology is a great example of this philosophy. There is a saying that the personal is political. I also think the personal is universal.

    Namaste,
    Linda

  2. For me, chasing good health has just been a symptom. My issues has always boiled down to love of self.

    I say this because of having had two experiences of intense healing of physical issues where, when I was able to see their root causes, one was caused by me not loving myself, and the other was caused by being wounded in my heart by my mother, over and over. For me, it’s always had to do with my learning to love, cherish, and honor myself (and to heal childhood wounds along the way).

    Best wishes on your journey.

  3. Most of us simply deny that we are mortal! I smoked 3+ packs a day for 28 years. I certainly was aware of the dangers. But when I discovered a lump in my throat, I quit cold turkey….that was 30 years ago. I didn’t quit because I feared dying. I quit because I feared losing my ability to speak.
    It would be funny, if it wasn’t so ridiculous.

    Some of us live with chronic emotional “unease” or physical pain and dull it with pleasure of one kind of another. It’s the relief immediate gratification brings that hooks us into denial. I still have significant lapses in healthy eating, right now being one of them.:) Thanks for the reminders.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

