Updates and musings…

The Holistic Approach of Alternative Medicine ...

The Holistic Approach of Alternative Medicine symbolized by the aura of man. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Several weeks have now passed since I decided to take a blogging break while contemplating how to go forward.  I’ve wound up in another round of unwinding, not sleeping and being too dazed to accomplish much so I’ve reached no firm conclusions.

But I am really clear that I’m glad I eliminated a bunch of blog subscriptions and have been pretty cavalier about which blogs I do and don’t read.  It’s been a huge relief to spend so much less time on slogging through blogs.

As far as my faves, you’ve probably not noticed much difference because I still read and like and comment on your lovely blogs. There a lot of folks I follow who are rarely getting a look from me.  Generally means (1) they don’t ever interact with me in a way that lets me know they’re engaged and/or (2) they sometimes have great posts but aren’t consistently interesting to me and/or (3)  what I can see on the Reader hasn’t grabbed my attention enough to get me to read more.  Saving all that time has felt SO freeing!

I haven’t been writing as much, more because of the debilitating muscle/sleep issues than any intent to not be writing.  The good news on the muscle front is that I’ve hit another one of those new levels of open that feels wondrous — who knew a face could feel this good?  Not done yet though.  Based on what I feel so far, it must feel amazing to have a completely relaxed face.

I have been working a bit, on the Wizard game blog, at spacing out publishing when I work on several ideas at once and I’m liking the way that keeps things going over time.  It takes some pressure off of the no-ideas times if I’ve spread out the scheduling of posts in the moments when I’m full of topics and words.  So I am committed to playing with that.

I definitely plan to keep J2P Monday going. I’m teetering about Collective Prayer Sunday…  I also want to start an ongoing series of posts about my long healing journey, including observations about western medicine vs. alternative medicine, combined with a general look at the relationship between physical and spiritual healing.  Don’t much like having a particular day on which I’m committed to posting, so they’ll just appear sporadically.

So, at the end of the first week of the new year that’s my story.  And I’m sticking to it.  At least until another moment brings another story 🙂

14 thoughts on “Updates and musings…

  1. Just go with the flow Leigh. I found that setting times for anything was just more pressure. People will accept you for exactly who, when, where and why you are….or not.
    And as you found, very free’ing 🙂

  2. Happy to get an update. So sorry about the sleep issues. Are they related to the unwinding?
    Regarding your new approach to blogging. feeling relief is such a great feeling!

    I follow a lot less blogs than most people do, or so I’m guessing. I get very involved with those I read, particularly if it is mutual, but sometimes it isn’t and for me that’s okay. Some bloggers don’t follow me, but I follow them because I want to read their stuff. And vice versa.I have become less inclined to read material that does not jazz me in my reader. I have only so many hours in a day and want to devote more time and energy to areas of my journey that has been neglected. BTW no one is stopping me, but me.

    I so appreciate your honesty Leigh. It is very refreshing!

    • Yes, interfering with sleep has been possibly the toughest part of the unwinding…
      On the blogs: same for me. I follow some that are not at all about spiritual stuff that I really like and they clearly felt uncomfortable when they came to my blog so there’s no interaction. I read them anyway just because I like them.

  3. I love that you have taken control of who and why and when you read blogs – and what you decide to put out there too. Continued peace and blessings to you!

  4. Good for you.. I think sometimes we all have to cut down, Me too And only yesterday I downsized a whole chunk and deleted.. I hope your sleep patterns soon fall back into rhythm. and sending Well wishes for the New Year..
    Love Sue

  5. Yes yes yes – to the ongoing unwinding and the freedom it brings, and to your honesty about which blogs you read or not. I’m also getting more choosy.
    I continue to “unwind” my hips. It’s been years! One day I will finally have let go of all I need to stop hurting myself.
    Alison

  6. Good for you Leigh being firm and first focus has to be on self. Are you in a position to take naps in the day? To compensate the night sleep? I do hope 2016 is a good year for you… Barbara x

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

