J2P Monday on Tuesday: Healing family issues

English: Saying grace before carving the turke...

Saying grace before carving the turkey at Thanksgiving dinner  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In scheduling posts ahead for this mad blogging month I accidentally scheduled a post for another blog for Monday and then was too lazy to change it or write another one to go up as well.  But I wanted to do a little something with ho’oponopono for the holidays.  So happy J2P Monday on Tuesday!

I have actually never studied ho’oponopono more than superficially with a teacher but two of my huna teachers introduced me to the concept  and a couple of the prayers and then I read a lot about Hew Len and watched a number of his videos on line and just kept working with the prayers.  Traditionally in Hawaii, as I understand it, ho’oponopono is used for healing issues in families [Mark Saito does weekend workshops on this–web site under construction at the moment but I’ll come back and put a link when he finishes.]

Thinking about the many issues people often have at holiday gatherings, I decided this would be a good moment to look at ways you can use the prayer.  These are just some examples of types of issues you might have, designed to give you the idea of how to apply it to whatever your issues are:

  • Anticipating being irritated by people:  I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • Feeling like your family doesn’t listen to you.  How do you not listen to yourself?  How do you not listen to others?  I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • Feeling your family doesn’t see your worth.  Do you have self worth?  How do you fail to make others feel worthy?  How do you de-value yourself?  I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • Does someone talk too much or dominate the conversation?  How do you overpower others in conversation?  Does your mind chatter and drown out your knowing self?  Do you listen well to others?  I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • Are there family members who express opinions you don’t like?  What in you reacts to these opinions?  What fears do they touch?  Why do you feel the need to judge?  Why are you taking it personally?  I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  • Do you feel your parents never approve of what you do?  Do you approve of yourself?  How do you withhold approval from others? I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you

Every time you feel put out, put down, annoyed, abandoned, etc., heal in yourself whatever it is you’re seeing in them.  Everything you see in them is somewhere in you.  Anything in you you can heal.  Say the prayer.  If you have to say it to yourself two dozen times a day, say the prayer.

Have an amazing Thanksgiving!  And if you’re elsewhere in the world, as we move through the season of many holidays in many places, you can use the prayer with your family and have an amazing whatever holiday you’re celebrating.

5 thoughts on “J2P Monday on Tuesday: Healing family issues

    • I’m so slow sometimes on the comments we’ve already Happy’d on other posts, but since this is the day you’re celebrating (I’m thinking in Sweden you’ve probably already had dinner unless it’s one of the countries where you eat at 10 p.m.), happy Thanksgiving again!

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

