Grrr… uh oh more healing to do

In the midst of changing

Autumn Changes

We got a call from our next door neighbors today shortly after the lawn crew finished clearing leaves from our yard.  They were furious because apparently the blower put some leaves in their yard.  And we’re being ordered to see to it that it doesn’t happen again.  (Not sure what the or else is..).  The Universe does like to send us opportunities for healing, doesn’t it?

So basically they’re mad because they have leaves in their yard… in the fall… in a neighborhood full of old trees… some of which are in their yard…  Although it’s been some years since we had an incident, they started out as the new neighbors who yelled at us over everything.  And it never started with an attempt to have a civil conversation, he’d come flying at us in a fury and start yelling.

At that time there was a neighborhood snitch who reported every violation of every city code she could find (moved away, yea!).  When they got cited they assumed we did it (even though our house doesn’t really have a view of the area in question).  No apology when they found out it wasn’t.  Or the time he started repairing part of the sidewalk and stopped our car as we were leaving by running up, banging on the windows and screaming at us because we hadn’t thanked him even though we told him we thought the area was in his yard.

When surveyors proved he was wrong about his many furious accusations involving the property line (he has major issues about the observance of the line…), no apology for that either.  I quit doing any gardening or yard work on the side that meets their property so he couldn’t corner me any more and we’ve lived in cold but reasonable harmony.

With that phone call today, every furious moment about all those horrible attacks came rising instantly to the surface and it took seconds for me to be boiling with rage.  Wishing I could get a restraining order to keep them from speaking to us or coming on our property.  Thinking of snotty things to say.  Plotting to note any leaves from their trees in our yard and go complain…  🙂   You know, being pretty much… them…

Whatever I see in them is part of me and I can heal it in me.  Apparently it’s time for a lot of healing:

  • For every way in which I guard my boundaries too closely, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For every vengeful thought or idea I hold, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For every unreasonable conclusion I’ve reached about others’ behavior or why things happened as they did, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For every time I’ve flown into a rage and let fly at someone else, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For every time I’ve held on to anger instead of forgiving, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For every belief I hold that says if something is wrong, someone has to be to blame, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For every thought, word and deed that arises from anger instead of compassion, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For every time I’ve ever let my deep unhappiness lead me to cause someone else unhappiness, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For judging people as wrong or bad or unlikable, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For my beliefs that neighbors can be a big pain, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.
  • For disliking people without knowing them or giving them a chance, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.

I’m going to be exploring this one and saying the prayer for a while, I suspect.

16 thoughts on “Grrr… uh oh more healing to do

  1. Wow Leigh, I’m tottally impressed by your clarity about what needs healing – that list is amazing. I don’t think I would have thought of that many aspects of it. As for your neighbours – yeah – unhappy people. Sad.
    Alison

    • Thanks. As I’m aware. Right now I’m most interested in saying the prayers until I can think about without anger and feel only compassion. I have to remember they get to choose whether to accept the healing or not so my motive can’t be fixing them…

      • I see. Ok, thinking about this without anger would be a huge step, too. Even if they don’t change.
        But , still, as a result probably they would change or they would move away , or you would move away. I’m curious what will happen.
        When I forgave my clogged drain by acknowldeging that this is probably mirroring by my resistance to blog more, the drain suddenly was free again, without me having poured in any chemicals. That was odd. But it seemed to tell me that forgiveness works (I wrote about this story. It is in the ‘forgiveness’ category).

        • Yes, I think you’re right. When the energy really shifts the situation tends to change. I just like to stay clear it’s not my place to try to “make” them do or being anything different. But as I note anything happening –other than me feeling better 🙂 — I will give an update.

  2. Leigh, you are so beautiful and loving and human.Your list is wise and full of opportunity to heal and grow — how lovely!

    Like you, I find these pockets of healing opportunities fascinating — and great learning experiences. Love how you could see so clearly the way of peace in this encounter.

    Thanks for the inspiration and heart-touch this morning.

    • Thank you Louise, that’s so nice to hear.
      I’m loving that this path of healing with ho’oponopono is becoming an automatic go-to — I don’t know how everybody else feels amount me constantly going on about it but it’s making ME more mindful so I’m pleased…

  3. Powerful post. Now if they could move and take one of my neighbors with them, 😉
    I have to say that I doubt the intensity of healing matches the intensity of your reaction to your neighbor. i have heard by teachers recently that when someone behaves at a low vibration, it is not necessarily about the target ( you.) Matt Kahn speaks about this repeatedly. In any case, I love the prayers you created and I can relate to all of them.

    Love thy neighbor, love thyself.

    Namsaste,

    Linda

    • Yes, as Don Miguel Ruiz says, “don’t take anything personally.” It’s never about you. My trouble is I don’t like being screamed at whether it’s about me or not… and I have issues about people with that kind of flash temper.
      I keep reading over those prayers and I’m already feeling calmer. And I’m about to write another post about something else I’m doing…

  4. That’s unfortunate, Leigh, to have neighbors with such an instant ‘flash point’. And yeah, leaves, they do sort of fall and blow in the Autumn, ya? But they’ve clearly got their backstory and an unfortunate lack of skillfulness, so the ‘vomit’ comes projectiling out. Good on ya’ for the Ho’oponopono … that sort of reciprocal blessing is just the alchemy. 🙂 Blessings to you, and to them … may whatever keeps them so on edge by Grace be soothed and healed. xo Jamie

  5. Pingback: Adding feng shui into the mix | Not Just Sassy on the Inside

  6. Pingback: The mirror did something… maybe??? | Not Just Sassy on the Inside

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

