J2P Monday: The Crime “Problem”

dont beat drum quote

I’m turning attention next to the perception that crime is rampant and constantly growing worse.  We’re increasingly living with locked doors, security systems, in gated communities, etc. because we have a perception of crime permeating society.

PROBABILITY OF CRIME HASN’T CHANGED!

I wrote a post a while back about our false perception of crime.  The short version:  as a sociology grad student in the 70’s I participated in a project in which we studied crime statistics, whether crime had increased over time and how perception related to fear.  Over the years I periodically ran into updates or actively searched for current data.

The results in every decade:  the probability (or statistical chance) of being the victim of burglary, robbery, assault, murder, kidnapping, etc. HAS NOT CHANGED since at least the 1940’s (except for Black and Hispanic males in inner cities)!  Two major changes, however, influenced the PERCEPTION of crime increasing:

  1. Most crime before TV news was reported only locally so most of the country never heard about lots of crimes.  With the advent of TV, national reporting on “big” stories became commonplace, making people feel there was much more crime instead of understanding it was just a change in the reach of news coverage.
  2. Law enforcement changed from offering crime statistics based on probability, or the chance any given person would be a victim, to reporting gross numbers.  As long as the population grows, the number of crimes also grows–until we heal.  In fact, the percentage rise in total crimes has been very close to the percentage rise in population growth.  By offering totals, which keep growing with the population, they create fear — along with willingness to fund more law enforcement.

While crime happens to be the area in which I’ve participated in a project and done research to back up my claim that perception and reality are far apart, you could apply this idea about perception to many problems you see in the world.

A combination of collective consciousness and your own fears and worries can lead you to see problems, fearful things, etc.  Heal whatever in you clings to the belief or to the fear or anger driving you.

CHALLENGE

Explore your feelings about crime.

  1. Are you fearful about being a victim?  Of particular sorts of crimes but not others?  Which and why?  Of being a victim in general?
  2. Does knowing you are just as safe now as people were in the 1940’s when they didn’t lock doors and children played freely outside change your perception of crime in any way?
  3. Do you have underlying fears or beliefs about the world as an unsafe place?  About life as fraught with danger?
  4. Do you have fears about things being taken away from you?  Loss?  Personal safety?  When did those fears start?  What incident(s) started them?
  5. What in you responds to the fear-mongering in the media?  Why are you more willing to believe in that than in the good stuff?  When and why do you think you started buying into the fear?  Why do you support the fear-mongering by paying attention to it?

Again, you don’t HAVE to explore your underlying feelings to heal, you can just say the prayer every time current thoughts about crime arise.  And you may well have beliefs or issues in this arena that are represented by my questions, so carry on your own investigation of your past as needed.

I’ve suggested two versions of Mornah’s Prayer to use for healing:

  1. I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you
  2. Divine Creator, Mother, Father, Son as One, I wish to do ho’oponopono between myself and (name the problem, issue, fear, incident, etc.)_____.   Cleanse, sever, cut, release and return to the path of pure light.  HA!  MAHIKI! We are set free and it is done!

You can also use a healing modality like Reiki, a releasing process such as Fischer-Hoffman, a ceremony, or whatever healing practice you prefer.  Doesn’t matter how you heal, just matters that you heal.

Every time you think or hear about crime, say the prayer.  Every time you examine your life about the roots of belief, heal whatever you find.  Heal any fears about being a victim that arise.  Just keep healing.

Knowing that the collective perception about crime does not reflect “truth”, work on believing in the essential goodness of others and a safe and healthy environment for everyone.

As always, if you care to post about your experiences with this challenge, let me know and I’ll link to it. Please also link to today’s post.  For more about collective perception and how healing impacts the whole, see this post.

3 thoughts on “J2P Monday: The Crime “Problem”

  1. These stats are fascinating. Does location matter, large city versus rural areas? If not, I am amazed!
    My buttons are pushed by many of your questions. I know my issues and are addressing them. I will continue my recently added ( yet again) ho’oponopono practice. Can you apply it to anything? It does not have to be about actual pain or conflict? I will keep practicing in the meantime.

    I have been lessening my news intake for years but have been tuning in again to follow the election. If I had a device to zap all the violence and sensationalism it would be great. There may be an app for that. Apparently there is an app for everything, but global peace. We will persevere Leigh without an app.

  2. As far as place, there’s more on the original article but the bottom line is the one area in which the stats are way up is for Black and Hispanic men between the ages of 15 and 25 in inner cities. Otherwise, the probabilities haven’t changed in decades (it actually goes back farther than the 40’s).

    For the prayer, you can say it for anything. If I have a mean thought, I say, “I’m sorry, please forgive me, etc.” If I feel something off between me and a person, I say it. If I notice an issue or pattern, I say it. If I feel something is wrong in the world, I say it…. And you don’t have to know the underlying cause or be specific, just heal. I just ask the questions because I think it helps some people to look inward.

    Yes, a world peace app. There’s an idea. I kind of like the idea of aiming for each of us creating peace in our own hearts though instead of relying on technology 🙂

  3. Pingback: J2P Monday: when it makes me mad… | Not Just Sassy on the Inside

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

