Oh those energy shifts… and peace time

Collage of varius Gray's muscle pictures by Mi...

Collage of varius Gray’s muscle pictures by Mikael Häggström (User:Mikael Häggström) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of the fascinating aspects of my journey through muscle/health issues has been the way my energy practices change as the muscles open.  Every time there’s a major shift, I feel more and learn more about the practices and what they do.

With yoga, I’ve had several stages at which I literally had to re-learn balance in my practice because so many muscles opened that I no longer could hold postures or find the balance in them in the same way.  With more subtle energy practices, the changes are smaller and harder to describe but as my body opens, my relationship with all such practices changes.

A few years ago I wrote a post about my decision to work on building stamina using energy-changing practices.  For some years I faithfully practiced the Eight Key Breaths, the Five Tibetan Rites and Flying Crane Chi Gung.  Eventually I started getting interested in kundalini yoga and started spending enough of my practice/exercise time on it that the other three practices slowly fell by the wayside.  Then as my problems with the unwinding in my head grew worse, all exercise/practice became sporadic.

Recently I’ve been working on getting back to those practices. Today I practiced all three for the first time since I don’t know when…  long time!  I’d not had enough sleep and thanks to crazy unwinding had a vicious headache most of the day.  I felt like somebody’d let my air out and struggled to get myself to do any exercise.  I chose those three practices thinking the energy movement and balancing might soothe my unhappy occiput/neck.  I began with the basic spine series, which helped loosen my neck.

These practices have been part of my repertoire off and on for something like 25 years.  I’ve always felt better for doing them but–because of the extreme issues with tight, intertwined muscles– could only feel the impact as a general sense of balance and/or well-being.  Over the years, as various muscles opened, I began to discern more about the patterns of energy in my body and how the practices build, balance and move energy.  When I started using them to build stamina, they definitely helped, but it was still subtle.

In the time since I last practiced them regularly my body has opened a lot and some of the major holding patterns have released.  Tonight when I did them the energy built so much that at the end it was like I’d mainlined a few espressos.  Normally doing those practices when really tired and at the end of a bad headache, I’d feel better and relaxed, possibly even a little perked up.  But this was the first time I felt something close to the full impact of enhanced chi.

Wow!  I’ve worked long and hard; really great to experience this benefit.  Looking forward to receiving full –and more palpable–benefits from these practices.

Don’t forget it’s time to chant or pray for peace.  See Collective Prayer Sundaypage for more info.

6 thoughts on “Oh those energy shifts… and peace time

  1. How wonderful! Sounds like you’re past the beginning and hitting the pay-off that mastery brings. That’s a good model for all of us who wonder if the press release will ever come true on some of these modalities.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

