Managing Manna: part one

The tai chi master Yang Chengfu

The tai chi master (Wikipedia)

Note: it’s time to pray for peace; see below

Back when I took some classes on Huna from Serge King, one of the many teachings that stuck with me concerned manna.  According to Serge, manna is the Huna equivalent to prana or chi.  Vital force energy.

In the parts of Huna that are widely taught, manifestation is a major piece.  Serge made a couple of points about manna relative to manifestation that really stayed with me.  It’s taken years for me to understand more fully how they fit with other teaching about manifestation, but I got the basic import early on.

His first point:  anything you want to manifest has some amount of energy.  The amount of manna–chi/prana–that you have has to be at least as big as the manna of what you want to attract.  Whether it’s a job, an amount of money, a kind of car or a great relationship, it has some amount of energy.   If your energy is too small or too tamped down relative to what you want to attract, you won’t manifest that thing.

At the time, I had been working on moving my life toward some dreams/visions I’d had about who I came here to be and what I came to do.  I felt quite frustrated that it seemed nothing was happening.  Lots of internal change, lots of personality shifts, but the life I tried to create remained elusive.  My life in those days was far more restricted by chronic fatigue and the issues with my muscles than it is now but it took a while for it to sink in that in my state of health I didn’t have the manna/chi draw that life to me. Realistically, even if I drew it, I literally didn’t have the stamina to live that life.

I began to concentrate more on restoring my health and less on trying to create that new life.  As you know if you’ve been reading a while, I haven’t completed that healing journey yet.  But I’m enough stronger than I can see a difference in what I draw into my life — as I get stronger, I manifest more.

Something like 10 years after studying Huna, the Law of Attraction and other similar materials started teaching that feeling tone is important in manifestation.  If you want joy you need to have a feeling of joy.  The more positive your thoughts, the more open the space for the Universe to send in what you dream of.  I think it’s a little more than that.  While the mental space you’re holding has a lot to do with your feelings, I think that manna/chi is also important.

While you can choose a feeling tone to hold and work with your mind to keep positive or happy thoughts, I think you can also work on building manna/chi.  There are lots of practices like tai chi or pranayama that specifically build vital force energy.  When that energy is strong and flowing it also tends to influence mood and thoughts, so these things impact one another.  Positive thinking can also give you more energy.

It really helped me when I felt into the dreams I had for my life and realized how big the energyof them was and then felt into my “low chi” issues. In that light the gulf between the manna of my envisioned life and the manna I carried at the time became clear.  Does your manna match your dream?

Part two will look at manna and making choices.

Collective Prayer Sundays:  In case you’re new, we’re finding 10 minutes at a minimum to pray or chant or meditate (or???) for peace every Sunday.  Details are on the CPS page.  For comments:  you can comment here or on that page or you can go to the Facebook page.

9 thoughts on “Managing Manna: part one

    • That seems to flow — when I first studied tai chi in the 70’s I was not into any of this metaphysical stuff but I took to the practice and practiced every day and there were a lot of things that moved into balance or grace. I could see that it was a result but at the time had no concepts to pin it to. So I can imagine that you really note a difference.

  1. some days Leigh, I read something and it feels like my entire mind just got blown apart.

    You did that today with this post — love this line… The amount of manna–chi/prana–that you have has to be at least as big as the manna of what you want to attract.

    thank you!

  2. Wonderful, thoughtful post. I find that when I try to link my personal energies to the larger ones around and available to us all, it makes me more effective and lends a greater positive force

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

