Chanting for Peace … and Rara

My blog’s word cloud

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to Rara’s situation.  I’ve been enough of a protester, radical, change-the-world person that on one level I still have the knee-jerk reaction to be angry.  To shake my fist and despise her accusers.  And I do have questions about what it costs to get the DA to put someone in jail without an investigation; hard to imagine there’s not corruption there.

But I also believe that being angry and stomping around is not the way to get to peace.  Since a world of peace and a life of peace are my number one goals it feels crucial for me to find a more peaceful path of dealing with this.  It’s been easy to fall into being angry at the DA or Rara’s former boss or to a system that lets this kind of injustice happen.  But I keep drawing myself back and meditating on peace.

I’m so grateful that there are people working on fundraising and donating art, etc.  I also deeply believe that our prayers and loving thoughts have more power than we always realize.  I’ve seen so many miracles arise from people sending love instead of hate, prayer instead of curses.

So as we prepare for another Collective Prayer Sunday, I want to invite everyone not only to chant or pray for peace on Earth today, but to begin a daily practice in which you send loving thoughts or Reiki or chant the lovingkindness chant for the DA and the accusers in Rara’s case.  Let’s keep it up until something changes or is resolved.  At the least it will help you find peace in your heart.  And wrapping those people in love could change them.  What do you say?  Willing to try it with me?

Collective Prayer Sundays:  In case you’re new, we’re finding 10 minutes at a minimum to pray or chant or meditate (or???) for peace every Sunday.  Details are on the CPS page.  For comments:  you can comment here or on that page or you can go to the Facebook page.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

