Collective Prayer Sundays and Yoga Tip

Peace symbol for CPS

 

I’m having a draggy weekend so I’m late, but here’s the post on which you can leave comments if you have something to say about your experience in praying for peace.  Some of us have been doing this for a while so I’m interested to hear if any of you have thoughts on what’s it’s been like to participate regularly in chanting for peace.

I’m loving the discipline of doing this weekly and it has been fueling a return to more meditation practice than I’ve managed in years.  I’ve undertake one meditation challenge after another since this began and I can feel the impact of bringing the practice back into my life.

In case you’re new, we’re finding 10 minutes at a minimum to pray or chant or meditate (or???) for peace every Sunday.  Details are on the CPS page.For comments:  you can comment here or on that page or you can go to the Facebook page.

Yoga Tip

During the 40 days of doing the ego eradicator I reflected a lot on the position you hold, with arms in the air.  Three minutes doesn’t sound like a lot but I found that it was a challenge to hold that position–even though I’ve been doing a lot of kundalini yoga that has strengthened my arms–that long.  I soon realized that my tendency was to push my shoulders up and tense the arms muscles and the odd position of the fingers contributed to tightening my arms.  As soon as I saw it I concentrated on keeping my shoulders down and relaxing the muscles in my arms, particularly the biceps.  It also helps to keep your fingers loose–if you tense your fingers in that position it almost automatically causes you to tense your arm muscles.  All this makes an amazing difference in your ability to hold the position.   So keep a little focus on position so you can make sure your shoulders stay down and that you’re not tensing your arms.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

