Singing Chants and Lovingkindness

By Michel Royon on Wikimedia

Sunday was the 20th day of Deva Premal and Miten’s 21 Day Meditation series and I was a little behind.  So when it was time to do my Sunday peace prayer I also wanted to do the meditation that would catch me up and have me ready for the big Gayatri day on Monday.

I’ve really loved this 21 days of chanting but the 20th entry disappointed me a little.  Instead of openly singing the chant they had written a song that expressed the sentiments of the chant.  I listened for quite a while before realizing there was a chorus of the chant going on so subtly in the background that I didn’t realize it was happening.  I’ve loved singing the chants and they have opened my heart and gotten my energy flowing so just lying there listening to this song didn’t do it for me.

I have the chant, Om Kama Pujitayei Namaha, on their Mantras for Precarious Times so I chanted with that before getting to metta.  The chant brought me to saying the lovingkindness chant from such a lovely, open space, I may sing one of those chants before I chant for peace every time.

The last couple of months has brought a variety of challenges that have asked me to do some practice or another regularly– sometimes I’ve been doing two or three at once and having to get in several things.  I’ve been loving the way it has kept me immersed and moving and opening.  That included one of Deepak’s 21 day meditation series.  I’ve done 4 or 5 of his series now and enjoyed them but none for me have compared with the extraordinary experience of singing these chants with Deva.

The culmination was a an invitation to the world to join in Gayatri on the 21st day.  Suggested times were 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.  I was slightly late for the 7 p.m. time but got in soon enough to overlap with people who started on time.  I felt such power from the chant and the sense of energy connecting around the world that I played the chant on a repeating loop softly in the background for the rest of the evening.

I’ve been listening to Deva’s chants for a few years now but, not knowing the words to most of them, I didn’t sing along.  The chants have such power that you can keep a track or a CD repeating and the energy in a room starts shifting.  So I’ve felt their power but still it came as a surprise to sing the chants and feel their power surge through me.  I’m hooked!

10 thoughts on “Singing Chants and Lovingkindness

  1. I used to love to go to satsangs in LA at the Siddha Yoga Center, which is the lineage with Baba Muktananda ! They had a nice temple and well trained musicians so we would chant where the would start slow build speed and slow down. I would get so high!

    I did all the Deepak challenges, which I liked too but I do agree this Deva Premal Mantra challenge was special. I told you what happened when I did the Gayatri yesterday. Whoa, was awesome. I listened to it on a loop for awhile too. 😀

    I just saw there is a Siddha Meditation Center in Scottsdale, I may have to check that out.

    • Ooh, chanting at the Center sounds lovely I have a few kirtan chant recordings and I love to get wrapped up in the energy but most of the time I don’t know the words well enough to sing along.. I’m already looking forward to the next Deva Primal meditation challenge (not that I’m not living in the moment :>)

  2. Hi Leigh. Just looked, and listened to Deva Premal from your link above. She has the most incredible resonating voice, it’s like a connection directly within. You are just there instantly. I have been looking for something to meditate by for some time as I feel the urge again after being distracted by the building of my blog. One journey leading back to another but now from a different place. The universe…..meaningful, beautiful and the timing as always, perfect. Many thanks for that connection. Namaste

  3. Thank you for sharing this. I intend to download and play the chants. I believe Richard has these but they are done by male voices from India en masse. This is coming at an important time for me. Deborah

  4. Pingback: The Great Bell Chant | Christina's Corner

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

