Ceremony Breakdown: The Chants

Ganesha by Kirti Krishna Badkundri on Wikimedia

For a “wiccan” ceremony I suppose some would consider it odd to spend the first half hour saying and singing Tibetan and Sanskrit chants.  But as I’ve pointed out before, I like to put together elements of different traditions that speak to me.  If you’ve not been following along on this journey, I’m going to list some posts below.

The overall reason for chanting, after calling in the four directions to consecrate the circle, arose from my sense that I wanted my vibration to be in the highest and best alignment to the desired outcome.  Ordinarily I would have chanted the lovingkindness chant for myself, but since it was also Collective Prayer Sunday, in this case I chanted for earth (making it a two-fer???).  No matter for whom I chant my heart always opens and fills me with loving energy and that seemed like just the way I wanted to start.

The second chant, which I sang along with Deva Premal (it’s on her Mantras for Precarious Times album) was Om Gum Ganapatayei Namaha.  It’s a chant to Ganesha for Removing of Obstacles.  I’ve chanted it off and on for years, originally just speaking it but when I got Deva’s recording I sometimes just played it for hours. Then I began to sing along.  I love its power and it seemed a perfect choice to call upon Ganesha for assistance in destroying an obstacle given that my ceremony aimed to remove the obstacle placed by my ancestor.

The third chant I just learned by participating in Deva’s 21 Day Meditation series.  Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya is a chant for Liberation.  I loved it immediately (really I’ve been loving everything in this series) and liberation also seemed a good theme to add to my ceremony.

By the time I finished chanting my energy had grown and flowed through me.  I felt powerful and full of heart and ready to go.

Some of the posts that have chronicled this story:

The Unwinding Head Saga

Healing Journey: Jaw Connections

Opening to sight: the shaman, the witch and the ancestors

Stern and Stingy Ancestors

Working on Your Ancestors

Healing the Ancestors

Cranio-Sacral, Completion and Challenge

The Witch is Back

Ceremony Plans

Breaking the Ancestor’s Spell

13 thoughts on “Ceremony Breakdown: The Chants

  1. I like ‘just being you’. To me that is the most loving and powerful way as it is your path, your way and is your journey. It may not be another’s but it is your truth. I personally find it quite different but I’m finding it interesting to say the least. Looking forward to reading more of your journey. Namaste

  2. Thanks for reblogging this Leigh. I also like how you customized your ceremony. Some people say it is incorrect to mix and match, but I say we are all connected on multiple levels so why not use whatever you are drawn to ? PS appreciate the links to other posts and the chants.

    love, Linda

  3. Leigh this has always been one of your post I recall. I loved the way you crafted your own ritual. I believe that I searched for this post once to share with my non-blogging friend. So glad you Retro shared this one!

    Sindy

  4. I am calling in via the link of Sindy’s challenge… and love chants and Deva Premal are excellent to listen to.. Along with Krishna Das I enjoy..
    I enjoy Drumming, and I thank you for sharing this one… Chanting holds much energy to recharge us..

    Blessings
    Sue

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

