Let there be peace–Monthly Peace Challenge

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Peace_on_earth.jpg

Land art sculpture by Hein Waschefort, Maluti Mountains near Swaziland. Wikimedia

Since I began participating in Kozo’s Monthly Peace Challenge I’ve posted early in the month.  This time I had to sit with it.  The challenge is to post a quote that can bring peace to the world.  The big challenge in that for me came from my belief that words don’t change anything.  So I’m skeptical that there is a quote that can bring peace.

I think peace depends upon each of us.  When the great oneness that’s All That Is reaches a critical mass with enough people who have learned to live with peace in their hearts then the world will turn to peace.

At the same time, I do believe that affirmations, when combined with clearing and practice and mindfully holding a feeling tone of peace, lovingkindness and compassion, play a part in finding that space within.  So I gave a lot of thought to what quote I would favor.

There are a lot of great quotes about peace but I think my favorite would be the lyrics to the song we always sang at the end of Unity services, “Let There Be Peace on Earth”.  My favorite line in the song is “Let peace begin with me.”  Click here for full lyrics.  A minister who was before my time at Unity of Lexington changed the lyrics a bit and I stick to his version:

“Let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me.  Let there be peace on earth, the peace that was meant to be.  With God as creator, family all are we.  Let me walk with my family in perfect harmony. Let peace begin with me, let this be the moment now.  With every breath I take, let this be my solemn vow:  to take each moment and live each moment in peace eternally.  Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me.”

A lot of the power of that song came from feeling the heart space in the room every time.  In my church.  In another church full of people I don’t know.  Wherever people gather, hold hands and sing it joyously peace feels possible.

I’m listing a few of the great posts that were made in response to this challenge but there are so many I encourage you to go to the link page to read them all.

http://grandmalin.wordpress.com/2013/09/05/september-post-for-peace/

http://carbonatedgrace.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/a-kind-word-heals/

http://www.kellykuhn.com/2013/09/breathing-in-peace/

http://motherwifestudentworker.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/september-peace-post/

http://www.ulawyss.com/bloggers4peace-quote-this/

http://amaltaas.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/monthly-peace-challenge-quote-this/

http://fecthis.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/bloggers-for-peace-monthly-peace-challenge-quote-this/

16 thoughts on “Let there be peace–Monthly Peace Challenge

  1. I went to a Unity style church for many years and we sang this song at the end of every service. What made me frustrated was that no one got it that it is way more powerful to affirm that ask. How about singing
    Yes
    there is peace on Earth, and yes it begins with me, yes there is peace on Earth, the peace that is meant to be. With God as our power loved ones all are we (or whatever your version is), and we walk with each other in perfect harmony
    Yes peace begins with me, yes this is the moment now, with every breath I take this is my solemn vow,
    I take each moment and live each moment in peace eternally
    Yes there is peace on Earth, and yes it begins with me.
    We used the word love instead of the word peace, but same same.
    Do you see the difference. Do you see how much more powerful it is to affirm it?
    xoxox

    • I guess I never took the “please allow ” meaning for “let” in this case. I always took it like “and God said let there be light and there was light.” But I can see your phrasing leaves less room for interpretation.

      • Oh I never thought of it that way. All I could hear was that people were not affirming that we already have it right here right now, and so it is. But obviously you were hearing the same thing only in a different way.

  2. Pingback: Gods or Atoms: Who Cares?! Bloggers for Peace. | rohan7things

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

