Blogging and the spiritual path

MP900341542 Microsoft ClipartI’ve posted a couple of times on the Scribblings blog about my thoughts on keeping track of blog stats (here and here).  In a nutshell, although I see that lots of people are caught up in second-guessing every like, comment and follow/unfollow, I can’t get that caught up in it.  Over time I’ve realized that when it comes to blog stats I’ve taken in the lesson “don’t take anything personally” very well.

It’s a place where it’s clear to me that people have so many complex reasons for the choices they make that there’s no point in trying to figure out why.  As Huna teacher Serge King says, “people are who they are and they do what they do.”  So I shrug and figure they’re gonna do whatever and it has nothing to do with me.  Some might call that learning detachment.

Blogging for me has also been an adventure in stepping out into the world as myself.  My progress has been very slow.  I began by posting twice a week but doing nothing to get readers.  For the first six months pretty much no one read my posts.  In some ways I felt relieved because I always secretly feared that if I expressed my deepest self people would hate me.  The well-publicized adversarial nature of a lot of social media led me to believe that if I revealed my deep thoughts I’d probably have to face nasty comments from anyone who disagreed.

Eventually I decided to see what I needed to do to actually have readers and take my chances on the negative comments.  Over time I’ve stepped out more and more.  The miracle to me has been that in this supportive, amazing, lovely spiritual blogging community not one person has ever left a nasty comment.  Every time I’ve put out a post with the fear that lots of people would take exception to it I’ve found support and encouragement.  (Since I don’t follow stats too closely I don’t know if anyone quit following…)

This has been SO healing for me.  In the last few months I have realized that I’ve stepped out much more not only in the posts I’m writing but in my interactions with fellow bloggers.   A transformation through blogging.

At this point I’m following lots of spiritual bloggers and I like that I spend so much time every day immersed in thoughts about spiritual life.  It’s helping me to deepen my thinking and practice and keep my mind immersed in new world thinking.  I’ve learned a lot from all of you.

There’s a challenging piece with which I’m still working.  I do bump into posts that seem unnecessarily negative or that express opinions I find offensive.  Since I feel everyone has a right to their opinions, however different from mine, I don’t land a negative comment on them–nor do I hit the “like” button.

I know enough to realize that anything that offends me in someone else reflects something in me.  But instead of instantly doing ho’ o pono pono to heal  in me what bothers me about them, I usually just back out of the post.  Occasionally if there are too many posts that disturb me I quit following the blog.  In my pursuit of oneness I can see that I have some work to do.

For all of these lessons I am so very grateful.  Have you found any spiritual lessons in the blogging world?

12 thoughts on “Blogging and the spiritual path

  1. Leigh, I can so relate to this! Every word of it. 🙂

    I am finding it is a balancing act. The desire to express and reveal myself, and being sensitive to others — be it the people involved in what I’m writing about or the readers and followers. I’ve gone to both extremes — blogging only to “please” the readers (aka, get more likes and followers), and writing to give myself a safe space to express, whether that’s the wounded little Nadine or the Wise One within doing so. In the beginning, it certainly was more of the former. And that balancing act in itself is quite healing, revealing and transformative! 🙂 When I first started blogging in 2011, my first dip into social media, little did I know how much of a spiritual path it is going to be. Certainly not what I had originally intended! 🙂

    Thanks so much for sharing this Leigh. Much Blessings and Much Love to you…Namaste…♥♥♥NadineMarie♥♥♥

  2. You know what they say about other peoples opinions…. it’s all about themself and their perspective… that they project…. I have all the t-shirts, believe me about other people…. and eventually I said to myself…. i don’t fit in so i’m ok standing out…. here on wordpress i’m finding so many lovely friends which you are one of them. Thankyou…. I treasure you and your journey… after all…. you are me and IAM you… we are just enjoying different experiences and sharing them…. I would love to see a photo of you…. I feel your energy… and would like to put a face to it…. Barbara..

    p.s. It’s still not to late to write about ‘the importance of opinions’… Take a look at my latest post and feel if its right for you…. I have met so many more people already from expressing me…. take care Barbara

      • Thank you for pointing me to your gravatar… I was only focusing on your blog… sometimes I don’t see what’s right under my nose… What a lovely peaceful picture of you… you truly radiate peace… which people can feel when visiting you…. Thankyou…

  3. “Blogging for me has also been an adventure in stepping out into the world as myself.”

    This is a fabulous statement, one with which I completely agree! I feel like not only have I stepped out into the world as myself, but I have found myself, or I recognize that with every post, I find and discover a little bit more about myself. Yes, ultimately my blog is about me, and if I make any difference to any readers, then it is like the cherry on the cake.

    Thank you for being you!!

  4. Pingback: Thoughts on Blogging | pfelix3

  5. Great post. And as you are finding in this blog world, it is full of multitudes of ideas, differing opinions and lots of different spiritual philosophies. And it’s great. Grow out of one believe and put on another to continue your growth on this wonderful journey that you are on. It is only when we refuse to even listen to something different that we become stagnant and block our growth. No need to judge it, just take it on board, see if it fits you, if no, let it go, if yes, walk around in it and ‘feel’ within to see if it’s a part of your path. You have me grinning as I feel your journey. And I am still discovering things by what you have put in your posts, and it’s bringing memories back on parts of what I encountered as I tried to ‘fit’ into so many things. It took a while but finally my heart said, ‘just do it with love’, and everything began to change. Now that was MY journey. You have your own, but it has been great to follow. May it be an enlightening and beautiful path that you find. Namaste

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

