Chant for your enemies challenge

Peaceful Salty

The next challenge for Collective Prayer Sundays is about finding peace with someone you don’t like or whom you consider your enemy or with whom you have ongoing issues–for this one please pick someone you actually know.  I’m going to give you another long time frame for this one so you have plenty of time to get it in.

Between now and midnight on Sept. 15, 2013 chant for seven days in a row for a person you don’t like (the same person every day) for 30 minutes.  So it will be “May _____ (fill in the monstrous a**hole name of choice) be filled with lovingkindness, may he/she be well, may he/she be peaceful and at ease, may he/she be happy.”  Or say the prayer or chant of your choice and fill in that person.

Try to work out a time within this month when you can do seven days in a row.  If you have to skip a day and keep going that’s fine, but try not to scatter the days too badly as it’s the cumulative effect of doing it regularly that you’re aiming to feel.  If you can’t do 30 minutes but you can do 15, do the shorter amount but if you want to really feel it deeply, I recommend the longer time.

As always, please come back and comment on the posts I’ll set up each Sunday or on the Collective Prayer Sundays page or go to the Facebook page and start a discussion there.  If you have lots to say, write a post about it and tag it CollPraySun and put a link to the Collective Prayer Sundays page so I can pick it up in a pingback.  If you want to message me privately there’s a form on the CPS page and also an e-mail address.

If you haven’t taken any of the other challenges yet but want to try some experiments put “challenge” in the search box to the right and get a list of the posts that have contained challenges.  There will be a page one of these days that lists all the challenges.  They’re all just designed to help you gain greater awareness of nuances in the chanting and how different ones feel so the timing doesn’t really matter.  Take a challenge when you’re ready and I’ll always be happy to “chat” with you about it.

Sweet looking Salty up there has enemies around the neighborhood and he’s pretty rough on the wild life around here.  But I can’t get him to go for the chanting…    or the peace…  Wouldn’t know it to look at him there would you?

8 thoughts on “Chant for your enemies challenge

  1. Love this challenge, Leigh. I have been doing metta meditation for sometime now, and it has been hard for me to think of someone who really gets my goat. I will definitely do 7 days in a row, but I just need to figure out who to focus on. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • Enemies is maybe too strong a word. Just based on the post about your childhood and your son, I’m thinking there might be some chanting to do about your stepfather and what happened as a child? Or since it seems like you’re in process of transforming your reaction to your son, may you can chant for him and see if that contributes? Just what popped into my head when I read your post. I’m very interested to see how everyone reacts to this one!

  2. This is a great challenge for me this week. I’ve been feeling like my kids are enemies as we do everything to get ready for another year of school. Your post reminds me that I have to find my way back to inner peace in all my rush to get things done. As always thanks for your posts!

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

