Collective Prayer Sunday–let’s pray for peace together-ish

I know, I know, I posted a Part 1 the other day and this isn’t part 2.  It’s coming.  But that post, which posited that praying or chanting or holding a vision together has an impact on the world, got me thinking about whether we could start something here in the blogging world along those lines.  I’m open to ideas or thoughts about a better way to do it than what I’m about to propose so feel free to speak up and I’ll let you know if there’s a change.  Everyone who wants to participate:  it would be great for you to leave a comment that states your intent just so we all have a sense of the collective that will be sending those waves out every Sunday.

First of all, since I think that collective prayer (I’m defining that to include affirmations, chants, envisioning, healing etc.) has power and I don’t think everyone has to be in the same place or time, I’d like to start a Collective Prayer Sunday group.  And, since it’s hard to pick one time that suits everyone (even in the same time zone, let alone around the world), I thought I’d set a span of hours once a week for people to pray for a minimum of 10 minutes and invite everyone to join in alone or pull together a local group somewhere in those hours in whatever time zone you live in.  I see it as sort of like floating waves of prayers for peace that just keep moving out around the world.

My suggested time:  between 7 p.m. and 11:59 p.m. in whatever time zone you’re in on Sunday evenings.    Again, a minimum of 10 minutes.  If you have a group that wants half an hour or an hour or more — fabulous!  I’ll suggest the lovingkindness chant:  May the earth be filled with lovingkindness, may she  be well, may she be peaceful and at ease, may she be happy.  But if you have a chant or an affirmation or a vision of peace that you or your group would like to do instead, I think the important thing is the intention of peace and health for the world.

I’ll pledge to put up a post each Sunday — even if it just says “Sunday prayer post, discuss please” so that anyone who wants to can leave comments about the experience that week.  I’m also creating a tag “CollPraySun” (collective prayer sunday) so if you want to write a post about how praying for peace impacts you or your group’s experience or…, there’ll be a tag where we can all look for it.

Let me know what you think!

14 thoughts on “Collective Prayer Sunday–let’s pray for peace together-ish

  1. this is fabulous! i am in! i’ll be thinking about it… let me know if there is anything that i can do. i believe that this can be a very powerful, ecumenical, diverse community of peacemakers.

    xo

    • Oh, I’m so glad you’ll join! Right now I’m just waiting to see if enough people are interested. Trying to decide if I should do a special page on the blog for some kind of interaction. Any ideas are welcome.

  2. Love this, Leigh, You can definitely count on me. I’m trying to think of a way to get all of the Bloggers for Peace involved. I think if we tag B4Peace like you said in your other post that will help. Let me think about it. Can’t wait for this Sunday to start. May you find peace and joy. May you be free from suffering. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

