Let it flow

http://www.flickr.com/photos/medaugh/14978376/ grace in winter 2] * Uploaded by Ekabhishek

I know, I know, I kind of harp about fluidity and flow. I’ve understood its importance for a long time, but as these last corded muscles slowly open and I feel blood flow where I could not before that understanding is deepening. If you have painfully knotted muscles or tight muscle patterns your blood isn’t circulating everywhere it should go and the vital nutrients that are carried from your breath into your blood stream are failing to reach many places that need the nutrients.

In other words, if your muscles aren’t healthy, relaxed and in proper alignment you won’t just feel pain or tension or have trouble moving, you will not be as healthy as you could be. It takes a lot of effort for your body to hold all those tight patterns and at the same time your body isn’t receiving oxygen and other crucial nutrients so at the least you lack energy. Deep level muscles can also squeeze organs and glands so that they don’t function properly so you can also have more serious impacts. Allopathic medicine largely doesn’t acknowledge muscles as being affected by accidents or injuries nor that untreated muscles issues can impact much more than whether it hurts to move.

Not only do those knots and twists block the flow of blood and breath but the nadis, or energy channels, through which prana (chi or vital force energy) flows are also blocked. Many, if not most, spiritual traditions have practices to assist in keeping the flow of prana open and full because higher consciousness requires the free and balanced flow of energy.

I feel like my long and—at times—tortuous journey through chronic fatigue and twisted, painful muscles has been in part so that I could learn all this and help other people to understand. In the US we have become so separated from our bodies (I’d guess it’s true in general of western civilization but I’ll just claim it based on what I actually know here) that I’m constantly taken aback by how unconscious most people are of their bodies and how lacking in awareness of how every part connects to and impacts every other part.

I’ll keep coming back to this, trying to say it in different ways so it makes sense to different people. Please, take care of keeping your muscles flexible and strong and healthy.

See also: Connections and Your Muscles, Emotions and Your Muscles, Helping the Bodywork Progress, Healing is a Participatory Activity, Sway with Me–Flowing As You Age

2 thoughts on “Let it flow

  1. Hi Leigh,
    SO glad that I stumbled across your blog. I’ve been delving heavily into conscious movement these past couple of years but as a result have all but abandoned my yoga practice. I thought a regular 5Rhythms practice would be enough movement and meditation for me, but NOT having yoga in my life has reminded me how much I really need it to “squeeze and soak” my muscles and organs. I feel so energetically sticky and physically creaky all the time!

    I’m taking some steps to get back on track–I’ve signed up for a monthly massage membership and am actually seeing one of my friends tomorrow for a private yoga session. I miss feeling that of flowing prana!

    I’m happy to add you to my Google Reader!

    ~Jennifer

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

