Straddling two blogs…

Note: I’ve again doubled up and this post is only minutely modified from one I just posted on the Sassy blog.  ,If you’re here because I commented on a fiction prompt post, my fiction is on Fiction Leigh.

As I relax and meditate and mull my spiritual blending issue I’ve also been mulling my blogs. I still like the title and look of the Sassy blog and still feel committed to the theme of this one. And I’m realizing that the issue between the two is not dissimilar to the issue in my spiritual life. Bluegrass Notes as a purely spiritual/healing journey blog leaves part of me feeling left out. But having a blog that’s other than spiritual so that all spiritual writing seems to go on this one leaves me with not a lot to say on the other.

During one of the deep conversations that I so love about being here with my spiritual community, my friend Sybil helped me define part of my dilemma more clearly than I’ve defined it myself. There are two basic objectives to a spiritual journey (with many, many variations): (1) become enlightened, transcend the physical and live in the oneness (or move beyond the physical); (2) learn how to be in the physical while also connected to your divine self. I’ve been seeing more and more clearly that my aim is all about living an ordinary life in a spiritual way. Enlightenment has never been a goal and I don’t do spiritual practices with any expectation of achieving some great high state of consciousness (so I’ve always thought it was kind of funny that I set off kundalini…).

It helps me see that as I work to synthesize my spiritual life I need to do something to address blending the two blogs.

I was just reading about Clay Morgan’s decision to shut down his successful blog EduClaytion and the tough call to dump everything you’ve built in terms of subscribers, recognition, etc. While I haven’t achieved nearly the success of his blog I’ve worked hard to build Bluegrass Notes and it’s hard to decide to just let it all go and start over. The ultimate decision is on delay because I’ve kind of concluded that if I’m going to consolidate the two I probably need to bite the bullet and pay for the pro site and that’s just not going to happen immediately. I’ll keep you informed.

5 thoughts on “Straddling two blogs…

  1. Your dilemma is one I share in some ways. I also have a few blogs. I’m not writing much in my second non-writing blog, but even before reading your blog I was deciding that I needed to clarify the purpose of what I’m doing with each blog and came up with a different way of working with them.

    So, I’m differentiating my two blogs even more and doing integration in a personal blog that I want to use an author’s page for my novel and work life.

    I’ll let you know if this approach works. I’ve seen most people advocate one blog, but also have read many people who have several blogs. It seems what’s best is what works best for you!

    • I’ll be interested to follow what you do. My fiction blog is easy — since it’s just there for posting fiction prompts and exercises it suits well. And I think I’m seeing how the other two need to combine –more of a life’s journey that has a strong spiritual element but lets me wax sarcastic some days. I think that reflects something more real about a spiritual journey because few of us become saints or bodhisattvas who never slip and forget to be divine…

  2. I think you’re having the same dilemma that many of us have. I also choose to bring my spiritual nature to my “regular” world, but many of my friends have chosen to retreat into a mainly spiritual life. To each, her own!

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

