Responsible for Reality

I started this journey with a transpersonal psychologist whose therapy worked from the premise that you create your reality with what you believe/think. The first book she assigned was Jane RobertsThe Nature of Personal Reality. When I read it I felt the world made sense for the first time Whenever we explored a situation or issue in my life the question was “what do I believe that created this reality?” I’d also go back in meditation to find the place and time when the belief started.

I soon realized that if I create my reality, then I’m responsible for my life and how it goes. Nothing can be someone else’s fault, no outside circumstance can be blamed for any of my problems. Not that I don’t ever blame an outside force, but I basically felt a huge sense of relief to realize that I am completely responsible for me and no one else can control what happens to me. As an only child whose every move was monitored, the sense of freedom was amazing.

Over the years I’ve realized that not everyone greets that idea of responsibility with the same enthusiasm. Removing the safety net of blame is unnerving for some people. For some, taking total responsibility for their lives is terrifying.

I can see that those fears are there and I can surmise reasons but I really don’t understand that well. I’ve been fascinated by following beliefs to their origins, mapping chains of beliefs, and retraining my mind to hold beliefs that suit the reality of peace and tranquility that I choose.  I still ask myself what I believe that has created any situation and I still love feeling that the responsibility for whatever it is is mine.

Do you like the idea of creating your reality? Does responsibility spell relief or fright for you? What do you believe about life that brought you to your current situation?

This post is for Jennie Matlock’s AlphabeThursday, which is “R” this week.

18 thoughts on “Responsible for Reality

  1. Excellent, I’ve been exploring the ideas of freedom and responsibility quite a bit lately. Thanks for this insight

  2. Very thought provoking post for Alphabe-Thursday. Sure to give way to much thought provoking dialog (even if with only oneself!) I am not sure how I feel on this question. As I said, lots of things to think about! Great post!

  3. I do like the idea of creating my own reality, and I always have taken responsibility for my own feelings and situation. I think this was taught me in my childhood, not by word but just by circumstances.

    I realized early on that I was at the wheel, and I always liked the power that gave me. In fact, as I grew older, I had to learn what the limits of that power were and came to realize that I couldn’t control as much as I had previously thought.

    But I can always control what I do and how I feel about it. And that’s what counts.

    =)

  4. I love the idea of creating my own reality. I totally believe in responsibility, but then I like to feel like I’m in control of my life, so it works for me. Not everyone wants that.

    Interesting post.

  5. Pingback: Confidence Boosters: Inspiring and Versatile Blogger Awards « Writing Your Destiny

  6. how interesting. I usually take responsibility for my actions and which direction I choose, but I must say that your upbringing is a big part of your life and when you are young, you can’t take responsibility for much of your surroundings. Just a thought. {:-Deb

    • Actually, even though children don’t always realize it at the time, they totally can choose how they respond to their environment and the people around them. I’ve seen so many people who went through the exact same circumstances but came out of it very differently and it’s pretty much always their attitudes and choices about how to deal that define the differences.

  7. I love this concept of you being Responsible for your Reality….

    I am a firm believer that everyday you have a choice on how you will feel, every situation you have a choice on how you React…

    Great post for the letter “R”!

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

  8. Pingback: Adjusting to the changing economic seasons « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

  9. Pingback: A life without problems & the language of relating to life as a problem « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

