Crying is a good thing

Any spiritual practice can open deep places and cause old memories and accompanying emotions to rise. At the core I think that’s because all spiritual practices cause energy to move – and that leads to energy moving into parts of you that have been closed. With yoga it’s easier to explain because a lot of emotional issues are held in the muscles and when you start stretching them those issues can surface. Meditation, by helping you to let go of tension while raising your energy can also illuminate dark corners. Every practice I’ve encountered has held the possibility of opening.

Generally, however, if you’re resistant to letting emotions rise or to opening up old wounds – not to mention that ego, which buried the memories to begin with, is very good at resisting all efforts to let go – you can do practices without letting go of anything. In my post on Living From Essence, I talked about how that creates an extra outer layer that moves you farther from essence.

I get being resistant. I managed five or six years on this journey with very little emotional release even though I fairly closely examined my life. And then, like many, many students I’ve met or facilitated over the years, I had one fairly big release and assumed I was done. Realistically most of us have multiple issues and intertwining daisy chains of beliefs (most of which stand in the way of essence or higher consciousness).

Our society has a lot of admonitions about being stoic, sucking it up, not wearing our emotions on our sleeves, etc. Those beliefs make it that much harder to be willing to open up and let it all out. I notice also a tendency to be so anxious to pursue happiness and eschew all else that the result is a sense that anything that makes you cry or feel uncomfortable is bad.

It took me a long time but I’ve come to embrace the crying and the uncomfortable moments of facing an unwanted truth. All that stuff I didn’t want to face was the stuff that kept me tense, anxious, unhappy. Every time I confronted an issue and cried or pounded or screamed for a few minutes I felt free. The more I let go the more calm I became. Once the angst subsided I began to exhibit talents and abilities I hadn’t known I had. I love to cry because I know when I do I am more able to reach my highest self.

 

8 thoughts on “Crying is a good thing

    • Thanks — I’m impressed just by the energy you put out to do all the things required for versatile blogger — Just got the turkey in the oven so right now it sounds too hard but later who knows (after I nap off the turkey). Glad you had the link because going to your site made me realize that even though I clicked follow at some point I don’t show up as a subscriber — I think all is well now, assuming that the click “took” this time. Every time I see your picture I think “Wish we could have a cup of coffee.”

  1. All right, that does it. Subscribed. 🙂

    You offer a great insight here: that spiritual practices of many kinds can be done outwardly, without actually DOING the cleansing work that they promise, if the student isn’t open to the inner emotional cleansing that is a necessary and basic part of the practice.

    • I’m a little vague on the administrative stuff but I’ll see if there’s a way to erase one subscription so you don’t have to get double. Thanks for subscribing and the other very insightful comment.

  2. Hi Leigh, thanks for visiting my blog. Always great to ‘meet’ like-minded souls and fellow travellers! I really relate to your post on crying and releasing. I also had a massive release a few years ago when a lot of old stuff I had been stuck in finally broke…and in the ensuing months of feeling liberated I too assumed I was ‘done’. Since then I’ve come to understand how possible it is to repeat patterns and beliefs I thought I’d shed – a little painful to realise but ultimately I hope I’m moving to a place of greater self-acceptance through the process.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

