Thoughts on cellular memory

I believe in cellular memory.* Cellular memory falls into the land some call “pseudoscience”; there are scientists, like Candace Pert, who are quite sure it exists and other scientists who are quite sure it doesn’t. For me, I believe because I feel its effects in my life. I also have some questions about what the universe was thinking when sticking us with this one but I think I have to make it up another couple levels of consciousness before I have any answers.

I was puzzled for a long time about the slow progress of my ability to keep my mind positive. I’ve been saying affirmations and doing visualizations, yoga, meditation etc. for more than 25 years and on top of that I went through the Fisher Hoffman Process as facilitated by the late Ellen Margron (which meant a very long and intensive version) followed by releases due to cranio-sacral work and Body Patterning. Yet I realized with a start several years back the amount of time I had negative tapes running or that my first viewpoint on something was negative was astonishing for someone who’d put so much effort into releasing issues and becoming positive.

Some of it turned out to be related to the bound up muscles (another post will be forthcoming on that one) but when I started researching family history I started seeing patterns of poverty and tough lives. Pretty much every branch I’ve researched so far came to America poor with varying stories of success or lack thereof after arriving here. One of the closest branches to me has been mired in negative thinking for as many generations as I know and appears to have been that way for generations before that.  Their patterns are in my cells. Some of those patterns are written in my muscles and I can feel how much my life has been influenced by those patterns on every level.

Practices that shift energy have helped me a lot with moving through some of those patterns and realizing that I have issues written in my cells that literally go to the bone has helped to give me focus for shifting my thinking out of the ruts of negativity and into positive veins.  I still work on affirmations and listen to recordings of them but I’d say the biggest reasons that I’m finally moving past this are the practices that change energy down to the cells and the Body Patterning work.

I’m writing about all this because there’s so much information out there these days that talks about how you can just decide to be present in the now or decide to be positive and that’s all you have to do to change your life. I’ve had many things shift by changing my mind but my experience – both in my personal journey and in conversations with many other people about their journeys – is that not every issue releases just because you adopt a new thought. Especially the deep issues that run the show but are not in your ordinary consciousness.

Sometimes it takes a lot of time to sort through the daisy chains of beliefs that started with what’s in your cells and accumulated through your lifetime. Please don’t feel you’re somehow not doing it right or it’s not working if you’re trying a new path and it isn’t taking effect right away. Be patient. Find the joy or at least the gratitude in wherever you are and keep moving along. It’s all about the journey, and it doesn’t matter if it’s fast or slow.

For more on cellular memory:  http://www.cellularmemory.org/about/about_cellularmemory.html

*I realize not everyone does; if you don’t this post will seem like bunk – that’s ok, you don’t have to tell me about it. 


7 thoughts on “Thoughts on cellular memory

  1. I’m not sure of your views on reincarnation, but I believe that the two may go hand in hand. Many Eastern religions believe we are reborn in the lives of people close to us if we are reborn human…

    Besides meditation, being healthier, unfortunately medication & studying both esoteric thought & science, I have started using crystal therapy, with very positive results both mentally, spiritually, & physically. I will be doing a post on it shortly.

    Also, you might want to look into mirror neurons, which are transferred from another… sounds like a scientific explanation for “bad vibes” to me.

    I enjoyed the post, & I hope you find peace in your own way (:

    • I do believe in reincarnation although I’ve thought of them as two separate streams of influence, one written on the body and the other on the soul. Just as possible they both influence the cells — they sure can get a grip on life! I’ll look forward to the post on crystals, though I’m pretty happy at the moment with the results of doing practices that change my energy.

  2. I have long believed that my father’s life – about which he never really told us, and we are only now getting a glimpse of the … let’s call it “unpleasantness” – was somehow translated into personality traits I have, that have often led me to react to things as though my father’s life had happened to me.

  3. I’d love to see a post about that. I do think we are influenced both in the cells and, with our parrents, by what we psychically pick up when we’re young enough to still be open…

  4. This post reminds me of Eckhart Tolle’s teachings on the “pain body.” We carry not only our own, but those of our ancestors, our race, gender, etc.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

