The food connection

Mind, body and spirit are, of course, inextricably linked.  Most people on a spiritual journey seem to wind up also on a journey about healthy eating.  The hardest part of the food journey is figuring out WHAT IS HEALTHY?  Because of my health issues, I’ve been seeing alternative practitioners for more than a quarter of a century and believe me I’ve heard a ton of opinions about eating.  I also have many friends who are obsessed with healthy eating and they’re all sure they know what it takes to eat a healthy diet.  I have a little different take and I hope it helps.*

Here are a few basics I’ve learned.  First, for every theory about food and whether it’s good for you or bad for you, the opposite theory probably also exists and several dozen theories that land at points in between.  Second, there is no theory that applies to everyone.  Third, eat fresh fruits and vegetables — it’s about the only suggestion that shows up on virtually every list.  Whether the fruits and veggies need to be raw or cooked is a whole other issue.  Fourth, you have to learn what works for you (i.e., apply this one to number three).

* There are so many ins and outs, I’ll be devoting a number of entries to this topic but this gives you the start of my philosophy on the healthy eating issue.

One thought on “The food connection

  1. Your number 4 surely does apply to number 3. For a period in my life, I was allegic to many fruits and vegetables, before my allergist managed to clear up most of those allergies. It’s also worth noting that you may be fine with a particular fruit or vegetable, and not so fine with what traditionally happens to it ( at one point, my suprevisor had problem with corn- not because of the corn itself, but because of the pesticides usually used on it)

    Catherine
    Foresight

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

