Sassy on the inside

I’m a big fan of Gilmore Girls in large part because of the many undercurrents of Lorelai’s life that echo my own.  A big difference is that, when faced with her family’s complete disapproval of who she was, Lorelai became more boldly her own sassy self.  While I found her character bordered on narcissistic personality disorder to a disturbing degree, I liked her bold insistence on being a sassy eccentric.  On the inside I was just as smart-mouthed as Lorelai but my response to the “don’t be you” message was to bury “me” as deep as possible and hide the spunky girl from view.

I’ve cleared away lots of layers — in a recent body patterning session Hanna commented that the huge amount of activity that’s been going on in my face and head are the masks breaking up.  Her advice was to look in the mirror and see the real me.  I am starting to see a light in there that I never saw before, but I’ve worn so many masks I’m not always sure I know who that is.

I’m pretty sure that somewhere in the mix there’s a sassier version of me and she’s been peeping out more often for a while.  No longer just sassy on the inside.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

