Politics, religion and judgment: Part 1

Watching the political maelstrom of late,  my reflections on opinions and judgment have been swirling.   I can see when it comes to politics and religion lots of folks have some underlying belief not only that they’re right but the world (or life as we know it) is somehow threatened by the wrongness of those who disagree.  And the fear leads to hate and condemnation.

It’s one place where I can see pretty clearly I can disagree with someone else’s opinion but there’s no reason I need to judge that person as bad or evil.  The same for those who hold different religious views.  I also see that for most people anyone who disagrees with their opinions–whether it’s Democratic or Republican views, abortion for or against, reincarnation or none, Protestant or Catholic, etc.– is an enemy.

It seems since the dawn of time people have duked it out over deep seated beliefs and hatred of those who believe differently.  And everyone is so convinced of their rightness they seem unable to see that in the end all the vitriol is the thing that destroys us and threatens life as we know it.

The left thinks of itself as the group aiming for peace but I see just as much hateful conduct from the left as from the right.  A lot of lip service is paid to Gandhi and Martin Luther King but few actually choose to practice what they taught.  And even fewer seem to see that it takes a lot of spiritual practice to be peace yourself.  The only person I can control is me.  The only anger I can stop is mine.  I am the war or I am the peace.  I choose peace.

3 thoughts on “Politics, religion and judgment: Part 1

  1. I agree about the vitriol. Hatred doesn’t help anything. But, since I do have much concern about even other people than myself being without medical care, I feel that, like it or not, I need to make that opinion heard as much as possible without judgment. I think anger comes from the fear that is so real for many. Since fear paralyzes many of us, anger may at least energize some people to speak and work for justice. Condemnation is what destroys peace within and without.

    • This is true. But getting angry and then directing it to being “for” something is different from getting angry and just hanging around hating everyone who doesn’t agree. Thanks adding this point.

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

