What’s a life worth?

I’ve been a little shocked lately at the news about Bin Laden and the people rejoicing in the streets over a man’s death.  I don’t like what he did and I’m not questioning whether there should have been a mission or even that they felt there was no choice as to the outcome once the mission started, but he was a living person and I find it ghoulish to be jubilant that he was killed.  I chanted the lovingkindness chant for him for hours long ago and eventually I softened and felt the divine nature beneath the angry mask.  Doesn’t mean I liked him or approved of him, but I recognized him as another member of the web of life.

We stormed Iraq, a country that had no known relationship to 9/11 and no nuclear weapons and caused the deaths of tens of thousands of innocent civilians and left thousands more living in fear and often without services like electricity ever since.  If we think justice for the loss of life on 9/11 is served by killing someone, how do we imagine justice will be served for the Iraqis?

I don’t have answers for how to handle terrorists but I keep thinking that the kill/revenge/kill cycle that’s been the way of the world is not the way to peace.  Don’t get mad, be peace.

2 thoughts on “What’s a life worth?

  1. Reblogged this on Not Just Sassy on the Inside and commented:

    Ivan from Teacher As Transformer found another very old post (I think this one goes back to a time of maybe 3 followers). When I saw the like I decided to take a look at though it was about news at the time, in an eery way it seems very appropriate now…

Please add your thoughts; love a good discussion!

