Aliveness arriving

http://www.laurierohner.com/vine-heart-watercolor-illustration.html

by Laurie Rohner

You can buy the above watercolor here.  While you’re at the site, check out Laurie’s other work.

Those of you who’ve been following me for a while know that I’ve been going through a long process involving the muscles in my face and head unwinding  They started out with every strand of every muscle wound up like steel, muscles glued to one another and interconnecting patterns holding everything frozen.  The last few months have been pretty trying, with lots of sleepless nights and headaches due to the constant yanking and pulling in my head.  I’ve struggled often to try to find the space of gratitude and equanimity in the midst of all that.

Like the sliver of daylight at dawn’s horizon I’ve been slowly feeling various areas of my face light up with life.  The muscles have been so tightly wound that much of my face and head have been literally numb for so long I don’t remember what it’s like to have a normal head.  It’s taken a long time but I’ve finally reached the point where each time a segment of muscle opens I can feel blood and energy flow into that new place.  Sometimes my head feels like it’s buzzing with energy from what I’m guessing is a normal flow of blood and prana that I’ve not experienced since early childhood.

I’ve been realizing that this very tangible physical opening reflects the less tangible process of spiritual opening.  I’ve often found it a struggle to decide whether I’ve opened up as far as some issue or shifted my energy after doing a practice.  From many conversations and much reading of blogs I gather that for many people the spiritual journey often feels like feeling your way through the dark and not being quite sure whether you’ve accomplished anything or not.  So with ever growing gratitude I now see this long slow process of opening my body as a gift that allows me to feel the opening and awakening as a palpable thing.  Every time a strand of muscle opens and lets light and energy flow through I see that that’s what happens on other levels when I release an old issue or do a practice that shifts my energy.

Somewhere in this lesson I feel there’s something I’m supposed to offer to others or use to help others on the journey and I’m also grateful to be of service though not sure exactly how this will look.  In the meantime I feel a bit like Sleeping Beauty being awakened, but this time it’s the Divine Leigh waking up the Numb and Sleeping Leigh…

The light in me grows stronger every day.  Thank you God, thank you God and so it is!

Collective Prayer Sundays:  In case you’re new, we’re finding 10 minutes at a minimum to pray or chant or meditate (or???) for peace every Sunday.  Details are on the CPS page.  For comments:  you can comment here or on that page or you can go to the Facebook page.

6 thoughts on “Aliveness arriving

  1. Leigh thanks for sharing the art. Following our individual spiritual paths so hard difficult but very worth awakening to the brilliant light inside. Love the imagery, Divine Leigh. Shine bright, Laurie.

Leave a Reply

