Spirit playlist

Liz at be.love.live asked in a post a few weeks ago for people to suggest songs they thought were good to pep up or uplift and she got tons of suggestions and then created a great list. It left me thinking about a playlist I made for my mp3 long ago that I called “spirit” because the songs on it are ones that have either lyrics or beat or melody or some combination thereof that lifts me up. I don’t listen to it very often – in contrast to Liz who was asking for suggestions because she felt she’d listened too much to her list. She posted hers and put it on Spotify. I really had fun listening to it both for old favorites, and a lot of things that were new to me.

Justin Hayward

Justin Hayward (Photo credit: The Nuelle Family)

So I added some more items to my “spirit” playlist and worked on getting it on Spotify. Couldn’t get my version of This is the Moment, which is Justin Hayward‘s and a few other things were just not available, but I managed to get most of it. Thought I’d share in case anyone else might find a boost from some or all of the music.

Spirit playlist

In case you don’t have Spotify, the list:

This is the Moment (on Spotify it’s the John Owen-Jones version but on my real list it’s Justin Hayward from the Moody Blues’ Time Traveler Bonus Disc)

Man in the Mirror – Michael Jackson

It’s a New Day – will. i. am

Moondance – Van Morrison

One of Us – Joan Osborne

Ordinary Miracles (live) – Barbra Streisand

You Raise Me Up – Josh Groban

Common Ground – Paul Winter

Conviction of the Heart (live) – Kenny Loggins

Say It With Love – Moody Blues

Kashi Vishwanath Gange – Krishna Das

Evergreen – Barbra Streisand

Dancing in the Moonlight – King Harvest

Leap of Faith – Kenny Loggins

All You Need is Love – Beatles (I took this off the Spotify list as they apparently don’t have permission to use any of the actual Beatles’ material and I didn’t care for the imitations)

Only Love – Bill Quateman

Sweet River – David Darling

Menoka – Jai Uttal

Fragile – Sting

Love’s in Need of Love Today – Stevie Wonder

Icarus – Paul Winter

Lives in the Balance – Jackson Browne

Imagine – John Lennon

I Gotta Feeling – The Black Eyed Peas

Dance with Me – Orleans

Compared to What (live at Montreux) – Les McCann and Eddie Harris

Rock the Casbah – The Clash

Summer Breeze – Seals and Crofts

Migra – Santana

Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes – Paul Simon

Jessie’s Gig – Stevie Goodman

Beautiful – Carole King

When the Stone Begins to Turn – Jackson Browne

My Music – Bill Quateman

Footprints – Jai Uttal

Footloose (live) – Kenny Loggins

Hope you have fun!

10 thoughts on “Spirit playlist

  1. I also have a playlist of metaphysical or spiritual (not religious music). There’s absolutely no overlap with yours, so I’m going to have to check out your songs, to see what I want to add. Thank you so much!!

Leave a Reply

